Chickaloon Native Village is among the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation 2020 Culture of Health Prize Finalists

On March 4, 2020, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) announced the eight communities – Addison, Illinois; Alamosa County, Colorado; Chickaloon Native Village, Alaska; Douglas County, Kansas; Drew, Mississippi; National City, California; Tulsa County, Oklahoma; Worcester, Massachusetts – chosen as finalists for the 2020 RWJF Culture of Health PrizeThe Prizehonors communities working at the forefront of advancing health, opportunity, and equity for all.

To earn Prize finalist status, communities had to demonstrate how their efforts reflect the six Prize criteria:

· Defining health in the broadest possible terms.

· Committing to sustainable systems changes and policy-oriented long-term solutions.

· Creating conditions that give everyone a fair and just opportunity to reach their best possible health.

· Harnessing the collective power of leaders, partners, and community members.

· Securing and making the most of available resources.

· Measuring and sharing progress and results.

This spring, each finalist community will host a site visit for representatives from the Prize program and the 2020 Prize winners will be announced this fall. The winners will receive a prize and opportunities to share their story and lessons learned with the country. Learn more about the previous 44 Prize winners at The RWJF Culture of Health Prize is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.